

Holland Club History (February 22, 2001) Rev 2012 The following information was compiled by William 'Bill' Britt.

"To the best of my knowledge and from information supplied from shipmates the Holland Club concept was originally proposed by Charlie Marin San Diego Base and Past National Commander 1994 - 1996.

The Holland Club was established in May 1994 and was adopted as part of the Constitution and bylaws that year to recognize those members

who had been qualified in Submarines 50 or more years. Just think, looking back from our founding in 1964 fifty years the Submarine force would only be 14 years old. Truly we are talking about the pioneers of our Submarine Navy.

The original Holland Club membership card was a paper membership card with the words "Holland Club" stamped on it. Later, about 1994, a newly designed card was introduced. This was a plastic card with the USSVI emblem and the words "Holland Club" and the members name embossed on it.

In 1996 the Perch Base submitted a Holland Club Patch designed by Frank Rumbaugh denoting the 50 years of service. This patch along with a Holland Club Membership card and Certificate is now presented to new Holland Club members.

The requirements for membership remained the same as originally adopted until 1998 when a change was voted to allow Sub Vets of W.W.II members who had been members in good standing for at least one year the opportunity to become Holland club members.

The first information I found concerning Holland Club was in the American Submariner January March 1996 issue where I found a Holland Club membership roster containing 68 names. To my knowledge these were the original plank owners and our commissioning crew.

This sailing list identifies our first Holland Club Commander Leroy Hoppe, Thresher Base, who qualified on USS S-39 in 1925.

Amongst the names listed were 4 Admirals and one Captain: Admiral B. L. Carr; Admiral Ignatius Joseph 'Pete' Galantin; Vice Admiral Phil Beshaney; Vice Admiral Eugene Fluckey (MOH); Rear Admiral John M. Barrett; and Captain Henry B. Sweitzer.

The earliest qualification date listed (Hoppe) is 1925, the latest was 1945. Some of these men qualified on such Boats as the O-4, R-4, SS-11, and SS-67."

Pride Runs Deep William E 'Bill' Britt, Holland Club Commander 2000-2008 (Born Dec 25, 1927, On Eternal Patrol June 3, 2012)

Current NOVA BASE HOLLAND CLUB MEMBERS ARE:

Name		Qual Year
Daniel James	Arquette	1963
Rodey	Batiza	1969
James	Beavers	1966
James R.	Bertine	1971
Dan	Burke	1960
Bruce E.	Byrd	1972
Howard	Chatham	1971
Henry G.	Chiles, Jr.	1964
John J.	Cunnally Jr.	1961
Tony	Cunningham	1972
John Philip	Davis	1972
William L	Decker	1964
Samuel Strong	Dunlap	1964
Frank J.	Fannan III	1961
Robert E.	Frick	1963
Charles Michael	Garverick	1966
Robert A.	Gilmore	1957
Robert Patrick	Glover	1964
Ronald T	Grabowski	1973
Ric	Guntang	1968
Brian Q.	Haller	1973
Dick	Hamly	1968
Michael L.	Harmody	1959
Steven Joseph	Jaeger	1970
Richard	Kelley	1970
James	Kraut	1968
William	Lawton	1970
Jeffrey S.	Leonard	1974
John S.	Lindstedt	1974
Louis	Maruzo	1964
Edmund G.	Mattran	1968
Francis Terry	McNamara	1945
John M.	Murphy	1974
Paul J	Nelson	1958
David R.	Oliver, Jr.	1967
Tim	Oliver	1972

Tom	Perrault, Sr.	1972
Willie G	Petruy	1960
Joe	Phoenix	1964
Antonio	Poblete	1965
Arthur H.	Rosen	1954
Ross L	Sargent	1959
Tim J.	Shannon	1974
Gary T.	Smith	1964
William H	Truslow	1964
Lee O.	Turner	1962
Michael R.	Varone	1968
William J	Waylett, Jr	1969
Jonathan H.	Woodall	1972
Lawrence	Woodworth	1958